Skip to content

Election Year 2012

January 2, 2012

Every four years Americans line up against each other and go to battle over who’s the best guy to put in the White House. You all know the drill. It’s the Dems versus the Repubs, the left versus the right, this guy versus that guy, and for 2012 it’s Obama versus who knows.

Is it just me or is politics in our country a cross between mass hysteria and situation comedy?

This year you are going to need a scorecard to keep up with all the players. It’s not just the candidates anymore. No, that would be too simple. You have all these peripheral players to contend with. Everyone lining up with their mud-pots and pundits ready to trash the other players field. It’s political war of the ugliest kind and the main victim is the truth.

Between Huffington Post and Fox News, The Tea party and Occupy whatever, this year is going to be N-A-S-T-Y. News travels faster than the speed of Facebook and in the social media age, John Q. Citizen is engaged with in-your-face political positioning as never before.

Just the fact I am sitting here blogging about politics should tell you something. I hate politics with every millimeter of my rather open mind. I consider myself just right of center and from where I sit I can’t even see to the outer extremes of the right and left where this game is being played.

So buckle up tight, it’s going to be a bumpy ride. The mud is going to be flying back and forth like a ping-pong match. Sorting out the lies from the truth is going to be nearly impossible.

I don’t know about you but I can say with much assurance,  I’ve had about all the change I can stand.

3 Comments
  1. January 2, 2012 1:42 pm

    When it comes right down to it, our political process amounts to a big joke – on us. If it wasn’t for the fact that clowns don’t like to laugh at each other, the rest of the world would be pointing at us with mocking derision!

  2. January 2, 2012 2:55 pm

    Me, too, bro.

  3. January 2, 2012 8:59 pm

    I disagree with just one comment you made: I think we need change BADLY. The two-party system has completely broken down. We’re offered a choice between those who would give America away and those who would sell it to the highest corporate bidder.

    Vote Green Party. At least we’d have nice gardens.

Comments are closed.