Skip to content

The TinTin of My Youth

December 26, 2011

TinTinThe highly anticipated release of the Spielberg/Jackson adaptation of The Adventures of TinTin released last week to dazzle audiences everywhere.

I was talking to some friends yesterday and discovered not everyone is familiar with TinTin. That’s like saying you’ve never heard of Abraham Lincoln or The Beatles. I just couldn’t fathom that someone had never heard of TinTin. It turns out that’s pretty common.

Not for me. As a child I would slip away to the library and bury my face in the TinTin books for hours. I was absolutely fascinated with the boy from Belgium.

As a child seeking escape the library was sanctuary. TinTin provided the adventure.

Tin Tin - The Secret of the UnicornIn this motion-capture animation treatment of Hergé’s TinTin, Stephen Spielberg and Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit) bring the young Belgium reporter and his dog companion Snowy to life in ways impossible just a few years back.

For the story they selected The Secret of the Unicorn (1943), and added in components of The Crab With the Golden Claws (1941) and Red Rackham’s Treasure (1944) to come up with their movie.

We saw it last night and I can say most enthusiastically it lived up to all the post premier hype. I am a TinTin fan from way back and was awed by the quality of the animation and the strength of story. I believe we are entering into a new age of cinema where the actor is such a small part of the production. Cinematography and effects are king.

Jackson and Spielberg will co-direct the second movie of the trilogy, an adaptation of The Seven Crystal Balls (1948) and Prisoners of the Sun (1949).

“I am having a blast, Tintin is not work, it is just fun”,
—  Peter Jackson interview in Le Monde

TinTinTinTin

3 Comments
  1. December 26, 2011 1:16 pm

    Good to hear that, as a fan, you loved it. Both of Spielberg’s Christmas films received mixed reviews here. We saw War Horse yesterday and though it blew me away technically, I hated the story. A minor correction to your post; I think the process used is motion capture, not stop motion.

  2. December 26, 2011 1:19 pm

    oops… you are correct. Repair in process. Thanks for the heads up.

  3. December 27, 2011 8:15 pm

    Mickey, I have never heard of “Tin Tin.” Honestly (except of course the RIn one).

Comments are closed.