Skip to content

Dieting

November 4, 2011

DietingIf I’ve been a little cranky this month attribute it to my diet.

It’s true, I needed to get off a few pounds. Okay, maybe a little more than a few. Truth is I was/am/continue to be way overweight. I put on a lot of weight when I quit smoking back in 02 and just haven’t been able to. No, that’s not true. It’s more like I haven’t been willing to do anything about getting it back off. And have I paid the price.

My BP skyrocketed, my back pain went into overdrive, and I just all around started feeling lethargic and lackadaisical. Tying shoes was becoming a real chore. The worst of it was how it was affecting my breathing. A walk in from the parking lot to the store had me winded.

Finally I gave in and internally screamed… “Stop the madness!”

With my doctor’s blessings I went on the HCG plan. I’m not going into a big description here. If you want to know more, look it up. Suffice it to say – It works!

Even with a few stall days over the last week I am down 33 pounds in 27 days. The plan is pretty aggressive for the first 30 days. Thankfully those days are about done and I can bring my calorie count up to a more sane level. I’d like to be down 35 when I get to the 30 day mark. If not, 33 is nothing to sneeze at. Today is an apple day hoping to inch myself onto that poundage by Monday.

What benefits am I feeling so far?

  • On the walk from the parking lot to my doctor’s office I barely got winded.
  • I wore a shirt the other night that I haven’t had on in about two years.
  • The back has improved.
  • I simply feel better.

So coming up on the holidays, what’s the plan? Not eat like a pig and keep an eye on the weight. I can always adjust what I am eating if I see it drifting up.

Really I’m not all that cranky. Really I’m not.

2 Comments
  1. Jan permalink
    November 4, 2011 1:01 pm

    good luck!!

Trackbacks

  1. Dieting « The Prodigal Scribe | The Angelove

Comments are closed.