Skip to content

Battleground: iPhone/Android

October 27, 2011

Android vs AppleI suppose in this great technological battle between Apple (all alone in one corner) and Android (looking more like a platoon than a solitary soldier) I chose my side when I dumped the old Blackberry for the Droid Bionic. It was like moving up to to a Porsche from a Buick, albeit a rather nice Buick. Bye-bye Blackberry.

Justin Long - "Mac"I have noticed something about the cell-phone wars; iPhone users tend to be pretty militant about their cell phones, which comes in real handy in war. The Android people are just kinda laid back in a Timothy Leary/Haight Ashbury kind of way.

It seems funny that long time Apple AD campaign actor, Justin Long, portraying “Mac” in the PC vs. Mac commercials, looks oddly like an Android guy. It was easy for Apple to go after Microsoft. Everyone loves a good David and Goliath story.

These days Apple is starting to come off as Goliath. I looked at the iPhone for about two milliseconds when thinking about upgrading my phone. So why did I select Android over Apple? It’s pretty simple really.

In the case of Verizon, my long time carrier, I could get 4G connection speeds. The iPhone in all it’s simplistic glory, for at least the foreseeable future, is shackled to a 3G connection. Liken it to driving that Porsche on a dirt road. It’s unknown when 4G is coming to Apple.

The other reason was related to the iPhone 4 antenna debacle of 2010. The right thing to do would’ve been to recall the phone and fix it. But no – the boys at Cupertino decided they’d rather send their users rubber baby buggy bumpers.

If I honestly look at what Apple is doing with the iPhone versus what the Android market is doing, Android is looking a lot like Apple of old — innovative. I can even use flash based content on the Android. 🙂

In the Apple/Android battle the real winner is the user. There is an abundance of great smart-phones out there for a great price with a wide selection to chose from, at least on the Android side. On the Apple side you get to chose between black and white.



According to extracts of Mr Isaacson’s forthcoming Job’s biography, Steve Jobs is quoted: “I’m going to destroy Android, because it’s a stolen product. I’m willing to go thermonuclear war on this.”

He is also quoted as saying: “I will spend my last dying breath if I need to, and I will spend every penny of Apple’s $40 billion [£25bn] in the bank, to right this wrong.”

Comments are closed.