Skip to content

It’s official – The NFL is Dead to Me

September 2, 2011

It’s like a perpetual dead zone has been removed from that sports locker I call a brain. I don’t know why I didn’t see it year ago. Greed is very patient and subtle. I remember going to see the Titans and I would watch those guys buying $8 beers and $6 hot dogs. You could spend the national debt of a small Caribbean Island shopping in the NFL store.

Then it occurred to me. The game is not about the fan. Maybe it never was. The game is not even about the rivalry that develops between certain teams, certain communities. Like so many other things in our capitalist society it’s all about the money!

During the recent lockout where the players and owners kept watching the calendar, knowing full well the drop dead date for the season. They got serious about a week before. What do you think they were talking about?

They were talking about the money that we put in their pockets. They were talking about how to slice up that pie so that everybody gets their fair share. I don’t recall seeing any fans sitting in those meetings. Perhaps it’ll take a few Sundays of no fans sitting in those multi-million dollar playgrounds built from the pockets of the working man and the communities they live in, for the players and the owners to get the message.

It’s not about the money. It’s about the people who gave it to you.

I have seen my last Super Bowl. I’m okay with that.

I’m officially making Super Bowl Sunday movie night – not “The Longest yard.”

If they keep raising prices this could be Super Bowl Sunday some day.

 

 

Comments are closed.