Skip to content

I’m talkin’ ’bout my g-g-g-g-generation….

August 12, 2011

Traffic headed towards Woodstock - August 15, 1969Forty two years ago this weekend there was a migration, a trek, a sojourn of youth the likes this world has ever seen. People from all walks of life and all corners of the nation were banding together and heading towards the small upstate New York village of Bethel. The destination would define a generation with one word.

Woodstock.

For the next three days and then some, a half million would gather on Max Yasgur‘s 600-acre dairy farm in the Catskills for the Woodstock Music & Art Fair billed as “An Aquarian Exposition: 3 Days of Peace & Music.” And the world watched.

Over the next week The Prodigal Scribe is going trip back in time and relive the sights and sounds, the people, the highs and the lows of Woodstock. From the music to the musicians — the community before, during and after the invasion, this will be a kaleidoscopic look at Woodstock and how it changed a generation.

I came upon a child of God
He was walking along the road
And I asked him where are you going
This is what he told me
I’m going on down to Yasgur’s farm
I’m going to join in a rock ‘n’ roll band
I’m going to camp out on the land
I’m going to try an’ get my soul free…  Joni Mitchell‘s “Woodstock”

Friday Lineup – August 15, 1969 – 

One Comment
  1. Diane permalink
    August 20, 2011 2:13 am

    oh lord, it just can’t be that long ago. We aren’t that old. lol

Comments are closed.