Skip to content

Strange Names for Rock Bands

August 1, 2011

I thought early in my life I was born about 300 years too early. I fancied myself more of the Hans Solo type blasting away at aliens in a galaxy far, far away.  Turns out I was born exactly when I was supposed to be. I mean, think about it…

I’m a halfway decent writer with a bit of an odd take on things. What better time could a budding writer late in his career have been born? Between Frank Zappa and the Mothers, Abby Hoffman, Haight Ashbury and Rock And Roll music, I have pretty much a never-ending source of material.

I do wonder about some of these band names to come out of my generation. Take the Strawberry Alarm Clock for example. I suspect drugs were involved in the naming of this band. I see the conversation playing out like this:

Guitarist: Hey dude… My alarm clock looks like a strawberry.
Drummer: Far out man… Hey, that would be a great band name!
Guitarist: What….. hey dude?
Drummer: No… Alarm Clock Strawberry

And by the next morning, somewhat recalling the conversation, they mis-remembered the conversation and Strawberry Alarm Clock was born. In an ironic rock and roll twist, SAC early member Steve Bartek went on to play guitar for Oingo Boingo. I wouldn’t dare take a stab at that conversation.

Through the years there have been some very strange band names:

Hoobastank
Electric Prunes
Hootie and The Blowfish
Wang Chung
Twisted Sister
Men Without Hats
Mott the Hoople
Fine Young Cannibals
Toad the Wet Sprocket
Chumbawamba
Butthole Surfers
Violent Femmes
Smash Mouth

Just to name a few off the top of my head. Naming a band is an art. It’s about marketing and voice-ablity. It’s got to have zing. I mean think about it — doesn’t “Butthole Surfers” just role off your tongue? uh…. never mind… don’t answer that.

Which brings me to the genesis of this blog posting. I happened to catch a new and upcoming group climbing the ladder of Indie label success. Their name? Are you sure you are ready for this?

Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

Yeah, I thought it was a cruel joke being played on my highly gullible psyche. I thought somebody was yanking my Rock and Roll/NASCAR chains. And then I saw this…

 

You have to wonder what NASCAR’s native son, Dale Jr, thinks about this.

It’s either one of the most brilliant marketing ideas to come down the front stretch in a hundred years… or there were drugs involved in the naming of this band.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. names rock bands | metal

Comments are closed.