Skip to content

Facebook Wants You to Be in Ads

June 26, 2011

Facebook is going all in for advertising. They are betting that their users will comment on paid advertising.

According to Adage, Facebook is lauching the capability to “Comment” on ad units. Those comments will then appear as sponsored stories on the advertiser’s website.

For example “Hallmark” will ask, “How do you make summertime a special occasion?” The instant you respond to the question that conversasion displays on the users wall and now their friends can jump in and participate.

It’s like Facebook Multi-Level-Marketing.

Let me make sure I understand this. I am in a visual participant corporate advertising — possibly with a group of my friends. And the only person getting paid is Facebook.

Not a bad deal for Facebook. Unfortunately the thing that made Facebook grow in the first place is a thing of the past. That something is in-your-face advertising.

I don’t like it. It just feels like advertisers are taking advantage of customers without compensation. Now if Hallmark wants to send me a box of cards I might serve up a comment or two.

I also heard Buick was signing up for the new Facebook user driven advertising. I want mine in red.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. links and… « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Comments are closed.