Skip to content

Man Robs Bank of $1.00 to Get Health Care

June 20, 2011

Last week a North Carolina man walked into a branch of the RB&C Bank in Gastonia intent on robbery.

James Verone is not your typical bank robber. He was not armed. He didn’t wear a mask. He did have a note asking for $1.00. After getting the dollar he told the teller he would be waiting in the chair by the door.

In a simple act of desperation, 59 year-old Verone robbed the bank hoping the means would justify the end. Broke and needing medical attention he came up with a plan. It went something like this:

  1. Rob bank of $1.00.
  2. Serve 3 years for bank robbery.
  3. Get out at age 62 and file for Social Security.
  4. Move to Myrtle Beach and work on tan.

In some ways you have to admire his willingness to work the system. They make movies about guys like this.

The story behind this story is the one that really grabs me. We can put a man on the moon. We are the richest country on the planet. We arguably have the best colleges and universities putting out the brightest and the best.

And we can’t figure out how to get health care for the needy. Between the greedy insurance underwriters, lawyers and drug companies, we have created a medical behemoth that is strictly for the haves — the have nots be damned.

There might also be a fly in Mr. Verone’s ointment. Because he only took a dollar hs is not being charged with bank robbery, only larceny, so his sentence may fall way short of three years. Guess he might have to misbehave and hope for a tack on.

On a side note the prison doctor has accused Verone of manipulating the jail system. To that I would ask…. “Your point being?”

3 Comments
  1. June 20, 2011 6:30 pm

    You know how I feel about the state of “unhealth” care in America. I feel Mr. Verone’s pain, I’m just sorry he has to serve time in prison in order to see a freakin’ doctor in this land of supposed plenty.

  2. Rose S permalink
    June 20, 2011 8:28 pm

    It’s a sad thing when robbery has to be someone’s solution to getting healthcare. I sympathize, truly I do. As a single mom of 3 kids, I can not afford care (fortunately, my children are covered) for even the most basic things: no GYN, no mammograms, no flu shots, no yearly physical, etc, etc, etc. The gods forbid that I get sick or injured – I’ve been ridiculously blessed in that arena. I’m hoping to stay healthy enough to get through Nursing school, getting hired at a place that offers full benefits AND get through the initial wait period. In order to get through the whole process, I need to pay for a complete physical (with attendant lab/blood work) to insure that I am healthy enough to work, yet I can’t afford to do so with my 1-shift-every-3-weeks-minimum-wage job. That being said, through our current system I would have no problem getting healthcare if I were an illegal immigrant, or a Welfare mother. Doesn’t seem fair, does it?

Trackbacks

  1. If you can’t afford the Healh Care system and there is no Medicare For all… « Under The LobsterScope

Comments are closed.