Skip to content

Eyeball update

March 27, 2011

It’s been almost three weeks since the surgery on my eye to remove a cataract. I thought it was time to give an update.

My old good eye is now my bad eye, although still pretty darn good. The surgery went well and I can see ten-times better. On my first post-op visit two weeks ago I was complaining about a slight double vision in the surgical eye. The surgeon gave it a good look and then offered a scenario where, because of the higher than normal pressure in that eye, I was probably having some swelling along the incisions. This would have the affect of giving some visual aberrations that should go away as the swelling goes down.

I think it’s safe to say she was right. Those doublings seem to have gone away.

So now I have lens inserted into both eyes. The old surgery (cataract surgery in 2008 on the right eye) is still in great shape. She said there is a slight bit of fogging on the old lens, but that can be taken care of by burning it off with a laser. That’s something they would do if the vision hits 20-25 in that eye.

I have one more post-op visit next month where they will do a full vision check and see if I need to be fitted for glasses. My distance vision is pretty darn good, but I need readers for computer work.

The miracles of modern surgery!

Comments are closed.