Skip to content

Rock and Roll Saturdays

March 5, 2011

Remember awhile back I mentioned that daily blogging is tough because you have to consistently find new and interesting topics. A few of you wrote that you like my music blogs, so I’m going to dedicate my Saturdays to some musical topic. Whether it’s a look back at a band, a song, an event, or a legend, I’m going to look back at the music of my generation. (The Who – 1965)

Woodstock - August 15-18, 1969

From Woodstock to Wales – Alice Cooper to Zeppelin, we’re going to revisit a time when it was all about the music. Not like today where it’s more about the show, the razzle-dazzle, the mix, or whatever technology you can throw at a production to hide average talent. (See Vanilla Ice)

The generation I am talking about came of age with the Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, Credence Clearwater, Janis and Zappa. It was all really about the music, great lyrics, rich harmonies, soulful sounds, and vibrant characters, on and off stage.

My first vinyl – the first one that I took my money and purchased myself was Alice Cooper’s Love It to Death. I was a couple of years from Eighteen, but this album plugged me into a generation struggling to find itself. Over the next few months I would wear out my new treasure and a couple of high fidelity phonograph needles. (see the Needle Doctor)

Over the next few months, I’m going to visit the obscure, the famous, the loud, the soft, and the dead. I’m going to rip the fabric of time and expose my view of the counter-culture and its music.

I’m going to share a bit of myself and in the process take you on a journey, a trip through the Age of Aquarius, a visit with Alice as he accepts his induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, a tribute to the good that died young, and hopefully open a few blank spots in my journey as well.

We’ll start next Saturday with a look back at The Alice Cooper Band as they prepare for their induction into the HOF on March 14th. The Billion Dollar Babies show up at the Waldorf for the induction ceremony. We’ll pay tribute to long time Cooper guitarist, Glenn Buxton, who passed away in 1997 from complications of pneumonia. This one’s for you, GB!



“I’m eighteen and I like it!” ~Alice Cooper

One Comment
  1. March 5, 2011 1:49 pm

    Can’t wait, Mickey!

Comments are closed.