Skip to content

Plagiarism is a social media disease

March 4, 2011

Click Photo for more about Stopping Online Copyright Infringement

I was sifting through a writer’s group and came across a post by a writer named, Bob Etier. I don’t know Bob. (I didn’t know it was Miss Bob until I looked at her profile) It’s very likely our path’s have never crossed along the cyber highway, that is until last night when I read her posting about the unthinkable – plagiarism. (aka stealing someone else’s property) Miss Bob is a fellow writer over at Technorati. Like me she is one of us keyboard jockeys, who occasionally sit down and write something in hopes someone along the way might find it interesting.

Honestly, until I read Bob’s post, I never thought about someone actually stealing my work.

You see, Bob did this nice little movie review over at Technorti about this nice little family unfriendly film called Piranha 3D. (You did your job, Bob – now I want to see this fish-fest.)

Imagine her surprise to find her story copied word-for-word the next day at a site called Article Pills. Stop! Thief!

With a world connected by the internet and a web search SEO article writing economy that pays $1-$3 per published piece, this is becoming a bigger issue every day and nobody is offering workable solutions.

Piracy is not limited to the coast of Somalia where RPGs are tossed around like darts. Piracy is happening everyday in every corner of the interwebs and creative writers are easy pickings.

What can you do about it? Right now, not much it seems. All you can do is be vigilant and keep a watch on your articles. After posting, follow-up in a couple of days with a quick Google of your keywords. Which brings up a question….

When did Google become a verb?

Mickey
The Prodigal Scribe

5 Comments
  1. Gwen permalink
    March 4, 2011 10:36 am

    I actually do worry about people stealing my story and then making it better than I could…sad isn’t it. As for google…hasn’t it always been a verb? LOL ’cause I always say “google it”

  2. March 4, 2011 1:28 pm

    Plagiarism is alive and well on the web and has been since the first graduate student googled “thesis, American history, post-Reconstruction, economic impact, industrialization”. If there isn’t a way to prevent it, I wish it was a crime that carries some consequence for the thief. Unfortunately, unless you’re busted with a copied thesis, there’s not much to deter those who steal our intellectual property.

  3. March 4, 2011 1:30 pm

    And while we’re at it, I’ve been rather bothered by the military newspaper out of San Diego that reposted my blog, “My Parents’ Love Story” – not so much because they posted it without asking. After all, they gave me a byline. But they edited my mom’s part of the story almost beyond recognition. Suddenly she was a helpless little thing with only two marriages under her belt, lol. A relationship newbie, so to speak. That was SO not my mom.

  4. March 6, 2011 7:00 pm

    Thumbs way up!!! This incident sent a minor shockwave through our community, reminding us that it’s not just the literary stars who have to worry about being robbed.

Trackbacks

  1. Saturday links short version « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Comments are closed.