Skip to content

Valentine’s Day

February 14, 2011

February 14 – Valentines Day; the annual love-fest brought to you by the good folks at Hallmark. Seriously, I thought Valentines day was dreamed up by the chocolate candy and greeting card folks for the sole purpose of extracting dollars from your wallet at the speed of cherubs.

In the internet age research has become as easy as tapping out a word in a search bar and information pops up like a bagel from your toaster. Try it – search for “Valentine’s Day” and see what you get.

The day is named after one or more early Christian martyrs, Saint Valentine, and was established by Pope Gelasius I in 496 AD.  Wow, that makes Valentines Day almost as old as Christmas and certainly older than Halloween and Thanksgiving. Who woulda thought?

The more interesting legends of V-Day are found at the next stop on the Google train – History.com.

One story goes that Valentine was a priest during the reign of Claudius II. Legend has it that the Emperor decided single men made better soldiers than their married counterparts so he outlawed marriage for young men. Priest Valentine believed the dictate to be unjust and began performing weddings on the down-low for young lovers. The Emperor discovered Valentine’s secret ceremonies and had him put to death. Everyone loves a martyr.

For you guys (me included) that failed to pickup a V-Day card for your sweetheart, fear not, for you are in good masculine company. It is estimated that 85% of all Valentine Cards purchased in the United States are bought by women.

Of all the commercial celebrations V-Day has usually been my least favorite. Over the years it seemed like February 14th was holding a gun to my head saying, by God you will love someone today! The fact of the matter is, I don’t need a date on the calendar to profess my love. The love is the same on May 17th or October 6th.  The only difference is the cards are much better. To my sweetheart I would say your Valentine is locked away in the depths of my heart and I share it with you every day.



I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day.  When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon. ~Author Unknown

One Comment
  1. February 14, 2011 10:09 am

    Everyday with you is Valentine’s Day. :-*

Comments are closed.