Skip to content

Weirdo Wednesday – Jan 5, 2011

January 5, 2011

I didn’t have to look much past Spring Hill, Florida, to find my Wednesday Weirdo. James Jablon of Spring Hill moved into a lion’s den this past Saturday. This weirdo moved in with two African lions housed at his wildlife center, the Wildlife Rehabilitation of Hernando.

For the complete month of January, Jablon’s den-mates will be Lea and Ed, two mature African Lions.  Well isn’t that just hakuna matata! Apparently he is hoping this dangerous stunt will raise money for the center. It sounds like James’ heart is in the right place, let’s just hope it stays there. Now I ask you – wouldn’t a bell-ringing game warden standing beside a donation bucket out by the main gate be a lot safer than offering yourself up as a dietary supplement?  I ask you Mr. Jablon, have you considered that once the thirty days is over, Lea and Ed are not going to let you leave the pride.  There is just way too many things to go wrong here. I mean after all – lions are carnivores.

I thought briefly about doing a top-ten list of reasons not to spend thirty days with lions, but ten seconds later got an email from Letterman’s lawyers demanding I cease and desist.

According to Jablon, he will be sleeping on hay near the lions. He intends to eat when they eat. Perhaps he can survive long enough to stay off the lion buffett.

Feel free to view the streaming webcam of Mr. Jablon’s adventure in the Lion’s Den. The cam will be active until he leaves the lion’s den on January 31, or until he becomes lion food, whichever comes first. Guilty by association, I proclaim the over 250 viewers of being weirdos-by-proxy.

http://wrohflorida.com/live-stream-qin-the-denq

All kidding aside, I have to salute the weird way to raise money.  If you have a few dollars you can throw in the lion’s den, feel free to do so HERE.

 



“I’m one of those regular weird people.” ~Janis Joplin

Comments are closed.