Skip to content

Editing

December 27, 2010

I’m doing something I never considered might help my writing.  I’m helping somebody else edit their Manuscript. In the process, I’m uncovering out all sorts of things about my writing style. Mind you, the book I am editing is a memoir and the author is not a professional writer, so there are some inherent differences than writing fiction. The issues are the same.  Most of what I am finding in his work are minor passive/active voice issues common in the written word.

In the process of reviewing and marking up this work, I’m seeing the kinds of things I struggle with when I write.  Hopefully, being involved in editing someone else’s work will help me edit mine.



“I never write ‘metropolis’ for seven cents when I can write ‘city’ and get paid the same.” ~Mark Twain

Comments are closed.