Skip to content

The Blood Red Moon of 2010

December 21, 2010

The Celestial meter has been pegged for two days. You could almost feel the undercurrent of spatial energy flowing all around us as the lunar eclipse approached. Even the dogs were out of sync.  The last time the Lunar Eclipse coincided with the Winter Solstice, it was 1638, eighteen years after the pilgrims landed at Plymouth. If you missed last night’s event, you will only have to wait until 2094 for the next one. We were blessed with a cloudless night, so I was able to get setup to snap off a few pictures.

The picture above was taken at 2:14 eastern time, roughly halfway through the partial eclipse.  It was kind of tricky because the glare from the bright side was overwhelming the shadow side.

The next picture was taken at 3:08 eastern, midway through the eclipse.  For you photographers that want to know details, I shot this with ISO-200, 256mm (digital zoom), 2 second exposure @ f/3.5.  I had to delete several that got tripod movement, but this one was about the best of the bunch.  I would have been able to get more detail with a good optical zoom, but still, I like what I got.

At least I don’t have to wait for the next one to get a good picture.

5 Comments
  1. Rose S permalink
    December 21, 2010 11:07 am

    The whole house has been humming for days. I feel oddly aphasic today.

  2. mecalvincasey permalink
    December 21, 2010 12:55 pm

    Glad you got a shot. We used out telescope to watch what we could but the clouds rolled in just as the moon was going into the full eclipse… really poor timing on the clouds part if you ask me! It was 0 degrees so our batteries in the camera’s and video died really quickly. Not sure I got any shots at all.

    Thank you for sharing your shots – I’ll put a link on my blog page to yours.

    http://www.thereandbackagainalaska.wordpress.com

    Your post gave me an AHA moment… the dogs have been crazy the past few days and I couldn’t figure out why…

    Michelle

  3. December 21, 2010 1:00 pm

    We were blessed with temps that hit 77° yesterday. (Central Oklahoma)

    The dogs haven’t been the been the only thing affected by the moon. People all around me have pretty much been bonkers for two days. Come to think of it… so have I.

    Thank you for adding me to your blogroll.

  4. December 21, 2010 1:36 pm

    Your pictures are wonderful. We had a snow storm and thick cloud cover – no ability to see the eclipse. I have never seen a red moon and it is qite beautiful here.

Trackbacks

  1. I’ll only have to live to be 128… « There and Back Again – Alaska

Comments are closed.