Skip to content

No motorcycling in blizzards

December 15, 2010

Brrrrrr……

With the bulk of the midwest buried in the white stuff and all bundled up in their snuggies, I’d like to give a shout out to all my biker friends in Chicago, Minneapolis, Toldedo, and the surrounding areas. It sucks to be you.

I’m hearing from people with over twenty inches of snow on the ground. What do you get to do in weather like that? Shovel snow? Make snow angels? Have snowball fights with your riding brothers? Ride your Harley? The answers to those questions are respectively, yes – yes – yes – and, are you out of your ever-loving mind? When you open your garage door and all you see is white, don’t you just get a little weepy? Spring is still three months away and your riding season is officially closed.  Well, it is for those of you in the frozen tundra of the American midwest. The short riding season is a good reason to not live there.

I basically ride year round. Let me qualify that…

There are days I won’t ride because it’s in the thirties or below, but there are days when it’s in the thirties or below that I will. If I have to ride I won’t let low temps stop me.  I like riding in cool weather.  I just don’t like getting ready to ride in cool weather. Layering the clothes, hauling out the big leather, and getting it all on is just a pain in the ass. There may be a few days in the winter when we get snow and on those days I wouldn’t ride even if I thought I could. The biggest need for a safe ride is traction.  Traction is everything and you just get very little of it on the snow and ice.  But thankfully those days are few and far between.

So to my my chosen frozen friends of the north, I say grab a cup of hot cocoa, sit by the crackling fire and think about riding along the beaches of Daytona or Southern California. Me – I’m going for a ride today.



“I’d rather be riding my motorcycle, thinking about God, than sitting in church, thinking about my motorcycle.” ~Anonymous biker

5 Comments
  1. TRISHSOBIE permalink
    December 17, 2010 3:02 pm

    KEEP IT SAFE {{MIC}}

  2. TRISHSOBIE permalink
    December 17, 2010 3:24 pm

    I TRIED 2 LEAVE A HARLEY POEM, IT WAS NOT ACCEPTED??
    HOPE YOU DON’T MIND IF I “BORROW” THIS BLOG….W/YOUR
    CREDIT {MIC}….4 MY OTHER BIKER BUDDIES 2 ENJOY=)…..SO
    THEY STAY SAFE THRU THE SEASON!! MANY THANKS & GLADLY
    SEND YOU SOME REAL SNOW!!!….

  3. December 18, 2010 12:00 pm

    You’re either brave or insane lol I don’t mind the cooler temps, it is the unthawing I have a problem with. Ouch!
    Be safe out there. I don’t imagine many are expecting to see a bike on the road. lol

    Happy Holidays!

  4. December 18, 2010 2:24 pm

    You gotta remember, the day I was going riding it was knocking on 60° out there, sun shining.

    Not bad at all.

  5. February 7, 2011 2:40 pm

    You have my respect. I am a fair weather rider only. I leave the sub-artic riding to the real riders.

Comments are closed.