Skip to content

Be a Writing Warrior

December 2, 2010

According to Websters, a warrior is someone who shows or has shown great vigor, courage, or aggressiveness. To that I would add a dogged determination to advance on a target, position, or result. Honestly, isn’t that what NaNoWriMo was all about – setting a goal and not stopping until you reach it?

Before I wrote Haunting Injustice, I would have told you that successful writers were the Stephen Kings and Tom Clancys of the world; success was measured in the books you sold. Surprising to me was discovering that success is not about dollars in the bank or pats on the back. Success is pushing through the daily distractions and getting the job done.

Every successful writer learns this lesson early on.

So the question is: Are you a writing warrior?



A best seller was a book which somehow sold well simply because it was selling well. ~S. Boorstein

2 Comments
  1. Belle Whittington permalink
    December 2, 2010 2:29 pm

    Mickey, I can really relate to what you are saying about the wrimo experience. For the sake of my novel, FIREFLY, I had to stop and take a step back. Because I wait for my characters to lead me through the story, to plow ahead like I was doing would have made my story sound false.

    I can’t wait until things slow down so I can dive into Haunting Injustice!!!

  2. Diane K permalink
    December 3, 2010 7:21 pm

    Mickey, You truly learned the most valuable lesson of all while writing this book- that success comes from within by the sheer act of doing your work. What a wonderful accomplishment that is. It sounds like that has truly sunk in as a result of this massive task. Who would have thought of that wonderful result? I have not yet done something to really “get” that from deep within, but I sure can see why it would happen that way.

Comments are closed.