Skip to content

WriMo in the RearView

December 1, 2010

The annual novelist’s thrash known as NaNoWriMo is history, but there’s still a lot of work to be done. Haunting Charleston is in a state of flux. During the course of the WriMo effort, I wrote myself into a bottomless plot hole from which there is no easy escape. The plot scenario was falling quicker than GM stock.

I stepped back to look at the big picture with a reader’s eye.  There are some semi-major changes that must be made which involve re-write and character changes, but the end result will be a better story. I always had a vision that sounded good, but once it was on paper it lacked sizzle. The changes are necessary and better now than to try pushing forward along a flat storyline. It’s not as bad as it sounds and I should recover from the changes in the next 3-4 days.



I’m not a very good writer, but I’m an excellent rewriter. ~James Michener

 

One Comment
  1. December 3, 2010 9:13 am

    Congrats on your win! Have a successful editing 🙂

Comments are closed.