Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 20

November 20, 2010

Words today: 2,390
Total Words: 46,212

Close to end – focused on the big picture.

There’s the finish line. Right up there. It’s within reach and the I’m still pushing forward. At 92.5% of goal with 66% of the month behind me, there’s not much that will keep me from crossing the finish line a winner. The focus has shifted from where I was on November 1st with a blank screen and a fresh idea. Then it was, get down word count – 50K in 30 days. Honestly, I didn’t see how it could be done. Now I can.

So with the new perspective, I’ve shifted my vision from the WriMo challenge to the body of work being developed because of it. My goal was 80K words, thinking that in edit I would get it down to somewhere between 73K and 77K. Haunting Injustice was 65K and truthfully was not long enough to attract an agents interest. (There may have been other reasons, but why give them another ‘no’ box to check by a short word count)

So here I am looking at the story, compared to where I am and where I need to be at the end of the book, I’m going to be falling a bit short, perhaps in the 70-72K range – a long way from where I wanted to be.  So, I’ll be figuring out how to add some bulk once I see where I finish. First edit is going to be a doozy.

Soldier on!



A writer is congenitally unable to tell the truth and that is why we call what he writes fiction.” ~ William Faulkner

Comments are closed.