Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 17

November 17, 2010

Words today: —– (took a mental health day)
Total Words: 40,001

It was bound to happen. Writing at such a frantic pace, I moved past my creative ability and took a look at how crappy I was writing, ripped a bunch out, criticized the effort, and have decided to take a break, lest I suffer the swift onset of stark, raving madness.

Honestly, it was a good thing. Creatively, it just wasn’t there today. I’d try to write and every word, every dialog tag, and narrative just felt wrong.  I know, it goes against the mission of NaNoWriMo which is to just write in spite of how bad you think it is, but since I have a pretty solid plan for the novel once it’s finished, better not get it so far out of whack if I don’t have to.

Anyway – still happy with what I’ve done and have figured out a few other things that will help plot issues to be faced down the road.  The plan is coming together in spite of the creative speed bump today.



I try to leave out the parts that people skip. ~ Elmore Leonard

One Comment
  1. November 17, 2010 9:28 pm

    You’re on a good pace, so taking time for a course correction seems a very good idea. What’s the point of writing 50K if it goes off target like a N Korean missile? Keep up the good work.

Comments are closed.