Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 16

November 16, 2010

Words today: 1,997
Total Words: 40,001

Today has been an assortment of extremes.  I woke to the maniacal din of barking hounds, no doubt upset that I was sleeping and they weren’t. The clock let me know I would get very little writing done before having to leave for an appointment at the V.A. Subsequently, I got no writing this morning. I kept an eye on the temperature gauge, because I certainly didn’t want to freeze my patootie off, thereby arriving at the V.A. with a medical issue that would make the upcoming colonoscopy unnecessary.

The temperature gauge cooperated. It was 55° when Pearl rolled away from the house (If you don’t know who Pearl is, click HERE. Her picture is on the top of the page.) I had a nice chilly ride to Ok. City. Pearl runs so much better in the cold, but I digress. The reason I was headed to the VA was for a hearing test. The diagnosis is tinnitus coupled with minor hearing loss in the higher frequencies. He told me this is common with older veterans whose jobs in the military had them around weapons a lot.  I was a small arms repairman.

Then a ride back here to try to get in word count to hit 40K. It was a stretch and a mad dash, but here I am. That puts me 10K away for beating the WriMo with 13 days to do it.

I think I am going to make it.



The difference between fiction and reality?  Fiction has to make sense. ~ Tom Clancy

 

Comments are closed.