Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 15

November 15, 2010

Words today: 2,656
Total Words: 38,004

Another NaNoWriMo milestone – Day 15

The WriMo race is halfway done. The just-in-timers should be in with 25,000 words today. Meaning – another fifteen days and another 25,000 words and the challenge is complete – winners!

I look back and recognize that I would be satisfied to be sitting halfway with half the words. I would’ve been able to convince myself that I was on pace to finish. That, regardless of what happens, I was capable of writing 25,000 words in fifteen days. I just did.

But that’s been my problem all along and I didn’t even know it. I was content to do just enough to get the job done. However, my modus operandi was usually to screw around until the time was almost up then run like hell to the finish. I was the guy who was rushing around on Christmas Eve doing all my shopping, or April 15th getting my taxes done. It’s a trait of the perennial procrastinator. To be so far out ahead of myself in this challenge I am in uncharted water. I am wearing my novel like a loose fitting garment. Tomorrow I will cross the 40K mark, meaing 80% of the challenge done in just over 50% of the time. Who are you and what have you done with Mickey Mills?

Considering the overwhelming possibility of success, I am now prepared to vanquish the procrastinator from the kingdom. I have seen the promised land and it is paved with completed manuscripts and acceptance letters from editors around the globe.

Is it Christmas yet?



It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation. ~ Herman Melville

(I snagged this quote from a Facebook friend today.)

 

One Comment
  1. November 16, 2010 1:51 pm

    Christmas? What is Christmas? 😉
    All hail the Procrastinator Who Made It! 😀

Comments are closed.