Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 11

November 11, 2010

Words today:  2,151
Total Words: 27,551

Never underestimate the power of caffeine when participating in WriMo. I’d like to be supplementing the caffeine with chocolate and Twizzlers, but I’m trying to lose a little weight and that seems counter–productive.

I like the way the story is shaping up. I sent an email out today to check the viability of some of the facts I am presented.  I’m not waiting for a response. I can move forward with word count and make any adjustments that need to be made in edit.

Which brings up a point. NaNoWriMo is a bit of a different beast to me.  Usually when I write I tend to do a round of editing as I go along.  I will go back over the previous days write and massage it into a little better read. I find that by doing that, the second round of edit is not as extensive.  Writing this way, in the pure frenzy of word count, I am not taking time to do that.  I am picking up where I left off and moving forward.

So, I am not even considering this a rough draft.  I am considering this draft zero.  My first round of edits will pull the write into rough draft status.  I will probably go completely through the manuscript five times before I send this out to test readers. Perhaps it will be ready by spring.

In the meantime, between my eyeballs and the chair-to-Mickey interface, I am physically beginning to pay a price for the effort. On a positive note – only nineteen more days to go before WriMo is done and I’m moving forward on my own.  Will be interesting to see how much I get done between days 30 and 45.



Poets are interested mostly in death and commas. ~ Carolyn Kizer

 

2 Comments
  1. November 12, 2010 12:33 pm

    Yeah, I find the same thing. I went back and re-read some of my “novel”, and it’s barely english. Words are missing or misspelt or have been replaced by similar sounding words (my own particular type of dyslexia)… but I’m really happy with what’s shaking out. Like you, I’ll probably need four or five drafts to get it into shape for my beta-readers.

    This is my nano page if you want to add me.

  2. Diane permalink
    November 13, 2010 12:29 am

    I love your daily updates! You will be glad, one day, to look back on this too. Since you can’t have chocolate and twizzlers, I would recommend frreezing slim rite from Kroger. When it starts thawing out, you can eat it like ice cream. I get the chocolate Royale and have come to really like it. It is better than slim rite, it tastes good, has nutritional value and it feels like eating ice cream. The trick is to freeze it upside down. LOL. That way you can open it without the tab getting in the way. Give it a try and keep up the good work.

Comments are closed.