Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 10

November 10, 2010

Words today:  3,375
Total Words: 25,400

Milestones are defined as a significant event or stage in the life, progress, development, of a person, project, nation, etc.:

Today marked a big milestone – halfway. It this was NASCAR, I’d be looking for crossed flags from the starting tower. If this was a four year college program, I’d be a junior tomorrow. If this was a trip from LA to Charleston, I’d be going through Oklahoma City.

Looking back at the definition “significant event” doesn’t do it justice. This is a big deal. This is like asking for grits and getting chocolate, like getting bumped up to first class, like having a birthday and everyone remembering. It’s a big hairy deal. It’s like the Jedi Knight of big hairy deals.

Remember… I’m the king of procrastinators. Why do today what you can put off until tomorrow? I’m actually doing this and getting it done.  Why is it such a big deal? Somewhere along the way I forgot the number one rule for writers.

Take notes… this one’s important!

Here it is….

WRITER’S WRITE!

There, I said it out-loud. A public outcry of how to finish a writing project. It’s so simple I almost missed it. In the mundane days of internet existence, I let the obvious evade me. The damn book is not going to write itself. And the thing about it. Thee’s another book to write and I can’t get started on that one until I finish this one. The lesson so far is…

Distractions be damned. Just write!

As far as WriMo goes. I’m halfway through the challenge at a third of the way through the time allowed. This is not the time to slow down. This is the time to push, to keep up the pace and have my full 80,000 word rough draft ready to finish early in December. My goal is to write “THE END” no later than December 10.



I have long felt that any reviewer who expresses rage and loathing for a novel is preposterous. He or she is like a person who has just put on full armor and attacked a hot fudge sundae or banana split. ~ Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

 

3 Comments
  1. Rose S permalink
    November 11, 2010 6:27 am

    Congrats for reaching the mid-point, Brother. I’m thinking your goal is easily within your reach.

  2. November 11, 2010 7:41 am

    You amaze me!

  3. Diane permalink
    November 11, 2010 2:32 pm

    YES!!!

Comments are closed.