Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 5

November 5, 2010

Pacing.

No, I’m not referring to the act of walking back and forth in your office fretting over not making your word count today today. I’m talking about pacing yourself through the WriMo challenge. It’s finding the tempo of writing that works for you and sticking to it. It’s about getting into a groove – the zone, as they say. The thing is, especially if you have plans for your work in progress that goes beyond being able to say you successfully finished the WriMo, you also have to be aware of pacing in your story. The tempo of the read as it relates to the plot. Ultimately you want your readers somewhere between turning the page with much anticipation and angrily flipping pages in tune with the swiftness of the tale. It’s a fine line, one I still haven’t mastered and may never.

Anyway, five days into the WriMo and I am averaging around 2,600 words a day. It’s going to be tough to hold that pace, but not impossible. I knew going in the 50,000 word point was still well below my target length of 80,000. I figured I would just push on and hit 80K the week before Christmas, just in time to set it aside over the holidays and pick it back up after the New Year and start editing. However, if I hold the average, I’ll hit 80 in 31 days. That would rock like Elvis.

That is somewhat aggressive, but not impossible. I might not be fit for human consumption by that time I’m done and I could be a candidate for the funny farm, but damn the torpedoes… Full speed ahead.



It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for writing, but I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famous. ~ Robert Benchley

One Comment
  1. November 5, 2010 11:23 pm

    I never dreamed I’d be a writing widow. *sigh* Thank God NaNo only runs for one month!!!

Comments are closed.