Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 4.1

November 4, 2010

Day 4.1… What does that mean? In short it means the second blog of a long day. I started out with one number in mind – one milestone, one five digit number with four zeros. 10,000 to be specific.

At last count yesterday I was just a sliver over  7,000. That means I had to reach inside today and hammer out 3,000 words to reach my goal – 3,000 words of somewhat coherent narrative and dialog that I will be able to carve down into the pages of my second publishable novel.

Sitting at over 10,000 words means I’m better than 20% complete – one-fifth to the finish line or not quite another 40,000 words to go. Wow… 40,000 more words, knowing the pace I’ve had to set to get in the first 10,000 makes it seem so far away. Yet, the fact remains, the book isn’t going to write itself and I have readers chomping at the bits, asking me when am I going to be done with book 2. And the other reality is at the end of thirty days, I will have another 30 grand to go.  My final word goal goal is 80,000. If I can somehow manage to hold this pace, I’ll be done by Christmas, ready to start the real work.  Going back through a few times and molding the work into something publishable. And why?

I do it because I love to write, but also because I have readers of the first book that fell in love with these characters.  The most common comment I hear is about how rich and colorful and diverse these characters are.  I worked hard on the character building in HAUNTING INJUSTICE and readers all want to know what they are up to next.

If you would like to know more about HAUNTING INJUSTICE, check out the book-trailer below.

You can read an excerpt at Freado.com



For a long time now I have tried simply to write the best I can. Sometimes I have good luck and write better than I can. ~ Ernest Hemingway

 

2 Comments
  1. Diane permalink
    November 4, 2010 9:15 pm

    Yayyyyyyyy. Keep up the good work Mickey. I will buy your book the second you have it ready. I can’t wait to see what happens next. Christmas time would be a terrific time to finish, a great gift to your readers. I am so glad your wing is allowing you to write again. And tell Debi, I am eager to read her next novel too.

  2. November 4, 2010 10:01 pm

    Thanks Diane,

    I’d like to think I could get to 75,000 words by the end of the month, but that’s pretty aggressive. That’s a pace of 2,500 daily for 30 days. Do-able, but not likely.

    Anyway, I know the first book was a good piece of work. Perhaps the second one will be too. 🙂

Comments are closed.