Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 2

November 2, 2010

Affirmations.

Who could forget Al Franken’s, Stuart Smalley character, gazing into the mirror and saying, “I’m Good Enough, I’m Smart Enough, and Doggone It, People Like Me!” (Stuart also said, “I’m going to die homeless and penniless. I’m still twenty-five pounds overweight. No one will ever love me. I could just kill myself.” but we’ll save that little gem for later on in the month.)

The reason I bring up affirmations is because when you attempt anything in the way of a challenge, especially where you are going to be pushing the boundaries of your own comfort zone, half the battle is believing you can succeed. To win the other half of the battle requires action.  This would be all so easy if my intentions laid down word count.  The only way to write your way to the goal is to write your way to the goal.

When I sit down at the keyboard in the morning, I look at my word count goal for the day and commit to myself to not quit until I get there, to not give up on myself.  I say to myself, something like:

I’m a writer. I’m going to write today. I’m not going to stop writing today until I make my goal.  I will tap away on the keyboard, push myself to create, to weave the language, to tell the story.  I will not lose focus. I will not stop. I will not stop. I will not stop. (And then I get up and pour myself another cup of coffee…maybe a bagel – I said write, not starve.)

Of course, the wording is optional.  You find what works for you, what nails down the drive to get you past the goal. I did the same thing with smoking, not that I want to use this as a forum to blast smokers who continue to commit suicide in slow motion… but I digress.

The point I am trying to make is to self-talk your way to success.  Affirm your ability to write as soon as you hit the keyboard. Affirm your drive and motivation and you will be amazed at the progress you can make while keeping your focus squarely on the goal and the daily progress.



I’ve always believed in writing without a collaborator, because when two people are writing the same book, each believes he gets all the worries and only half the royalties. ~ Agatha Christie

 

One Comment
  1. AngieK permalink
    November 2, 2010 9:29 pm

    Thanks Mick, this helps. I’m the poster child for talking myself OUT of stuff due to negative self-talk.

Comments are closed.