Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Day 1

November 1, 2010

In the couple of days leading up to WriMo, I went through a lot of preparation.

Solid outline –
Drive –
Desire –
Perseverance –
Talent – well… that remains to be seen, doesn’t it?

Day one is in the books and I have exceeded the daily word count goal of 1667. I need to get a few extra words in the bank due to some doctor visits this month. Truthfully, since I had already worked on the first and second chapter before, today’s count might be a bit deceptive because I already had a good idea of what I was going to be writing since I had been there before. It was not in my nature to rip it all out and start over, but it was best since I ended up making  some very drastic changes to the opening, all of them major improvements, I think.

How should the average writer approach the NaNoWriMo challenge?
With a whip and a chair.

Tame the challenge by getting ahead of your word count goal and staying there. A good way to do that is to set your goal higher than the necessary 1667 magic number. (Arrived at by taking the final word count goal and dividing by the amount of days in the month of November: 50,000 words / 30 days = 1666.6 )

The key to succeeding in the challenge is to stay ahead of the goal.  Don’t set yourself up to fail by saying, “I can make it up tomorrow.” You might find yourself on day 29 needing 10,000 to finish. That might be do-able on an all night thrash, but so unnecessary if you maintain steady progress.

Oh… and this sage advice is brought to you by the king of all procrastinators.

Me!



Writing is not necessarily something to be ashamed of, but do it in private and wash your hands afterwards. ~ Robert A. Heinlein

 

2 Comments
  1. November 1, 2010 10:48 pm

    You forgot the most important components of completing NaNoWriMo:

    Quit your day job. The landlord will understand. This NANOWRIMO, dude. Pshaw!

    Don’t feed the animals. It’s okay, they’ll be alright. A month without food will sharpen their hunting instincts.

    Don’t feed your family. They could use some hunting instincts too, right?

    Don’t do laundry. Double the length of time between washes by turning your underwear inside out and wearing it an extra day.

    Don’t clean house. I’m not sure that’s a time-saver since so little of it gets done anyway.

    Don’t answer your phone. No problem for me since I’m out of minutes for a full month anyway.

    Stay off of Facebook, Tagged, Mafia Wars, Farmville, Gold Miner, etc. I may need a support group for this, however.

  2. November 2, 2010 12:49 am

    Ahhh, the life of a plugged in writer!

Comments are closed.