Skip to content

NaNoWriMo – Not for the weak

October 27, 2010

If you know what NaNoWriMo is, this post is not directed towards you.

What is NaNoWriMo? (National Novel Writing Month)

NaNoWriMoI could leave it at that and be done with it, but just pointing out the obvious leaves little towards your understanding of the task at hand. NaNoWriMo is a sleep-depriving, keyboard-crunching, nerve-rattling, meal-missing, caffeine-abusing, word-count driving mechanism for writing a novel. The goal is to write 50,000 words in 30 days. (Which takes an average of 1,667 words per day to get it done.) Now this might sound easy to anybody that hasn’t written anything longer than a postcard to Aunt Petunia, but NaNoWriMo is not for the faint hearted.

You could say this is the literary equivalent of the motorcyclists endurance program called the Iron Butt Challenge. I remember riding almost 1,100 miles from Tulsa, OK., to Columbia, SC., in just over 22 hours for my sore ass.  And then slept for twelve hours.  It wore me out.  I suspect this will be similar, except instead of 24 hours, we are talking about 720 hours.  Looking at it like that makes the Iron Butt look like a ride around Central park.

My work in progress, HAUNTING CHARLESTON, has languished in the recesses of my hard drive since the accident in June. I have lately been trying to get back to going, but with very little initial progress and some new ideas, I have decided to start over from page one. I hope to use NaNo as a motivator to keep me focused on the journey, one word at a time.

So with a good plot outline, character layouts, and a good understanding going in of the path I want these characters to take, I will have a good start come the November 1st starting gun.

If you want to try your own NaNoWriMo, go HERE.



“Writing a novel is like making love, but it’s also like having a tooth pulled. Pleasure and pain. Sometimes it’s like making love while having a tooth pulled.” ~ Dean Koontz

 

3 Comments
  1. Diane permalink
    October 28, 2010 4:09 am

    I am delighted that this challenge exists to motive you!!! Sometimes that kind of pressure is motivating if it doesn’t kill you. I LOVED the way you described the process. LOL. Great writing as always!! GO kick some butt even if it gives you a sore ass!!!

  2. October 30, 2010 1:57 am

    Mickey, I hope you’re happy. I entered, too. Who’s going to feed the dogs?!?

  3. October 30, 2010 3:19 am

    I think we just leave the bag open and make it self serve.

Comments are closed.