Skip to content

Summer Solstice

June 21, 2010

Summer noun (sum’ – er)
1. the season between spring and autumn
2. a period of hot, usually sunny weather

Solstice noun (sohl’ – stis)
1. the longest day of the year
2. it’s still hot, just a longer day of it.

For some people this is a major celestial event. There’s places in the world you wouldn’t be able to throw a rock without hitting a Pagan ritual of some sort. Magic abounds.

Today will be a few seconds longer than yesterday and tomorrow, but what does that really mean?  Will I get to write a dozen more words than I wrote yesterday? Do I get an extra meal? Does the mail take longer to deliver? Does the dog get to sleep a little more?

Nay, I say nothing really changes in the solar system we call my world. The magic of the solstice happens in the spirit.  The magic happens in my capacity to embrace it. So I’m going to have my own little pagan ritual. I’m going to sacrifice a bagel to the mother protector of all writers and ask for creative intervention in Hemingway’s name.

John Sebastion asked… “Do you believe in magic?”

To that I would say… “Most certainly.”

mmmmm……. Good bagel!


“In everything natural there is something marvelous.” — Aristotle

One Comment
  1. June 21, 2010 4:58 pm

    Pssssttttt…you won’t be able to throw a bagel without hitting a pagan in your house tonight.

    ‘-)

Comments are closed.