Skip to content

Focus… Focus… Focus!!

June 2, 2010

Writing is hard enough without letting every little external thing draw my attention elsewhere.

I’ve stutter stepped my way through three different beginnings to my work in progress.  On a positive note, each one much better than the one before.  I am still trying to catch up to my original word count.  I do think once I get going it will flow.  I have a better handle on the plot down the road.  The beginning is a struggle because I’m playing around with different ways to hook the reader into the story.  The good thing is the story will be better because of it.  The bad thing is the days keep clicking off and the goal of an end of year completion is threatened with each days slack-time.

Oh well… Nobody said it would be easy.  If it was easy, everyone would be doing it, and where would the readers be in a world full of writers?

 



“I believe the road to hell is paved with adverbs, and I will shout it from the rooftops.” ~ Stephen King

 

One Comment
  1. June 2, 2010 7:40 pm

    Stephen King is quoted as calling himself the ‘literary equivalent of big mac and fries’

Comments are closed.