Skip to content

The Doldrums

April 1, 2010

Since my near-death experience of two weeks ago…. (Okay, that may be a bit melodramatic, but a time or two I would’ve welcomed death and the relief it would bring.)

As I was saying… since my near-death experience of two weeks ago, I have been experiencing a bit of the doldrums. I checked in with Webster to make sure that is the right word and he agrees:

dol·drums [dohl-druhmz, dol-, dawl-]
–noun(used with a plural verb)
1. a state of inactivity or stagnation, as in business or art:
2. a dull, listless, depressed mood; low spirits.
3. a belt of calms and light baffling winds north of the equator

This has got nothing to do with winds.

Here’s the thing. I think of myself as a writer, but yet – I am not writing. Hell, it’s been two weeks since I blogged. I had a plan for getting the second book done. I had what I thought was a good, solid outline. I had a goal in mind. I even set out writing. And then the God’s struck at me with all the vengeance that Montezuma and his cohorts could muster. I considered getting a priest on stand-by.

And then the clouds parted, the sun peeked through, and all was right with the world once again…. with one exception. Now, it seems, every word that goes from my keyboard to my editor is covered with crap and the marvelous outline and storyline appears trite and over done. My critical eye has been fitted with a microscope and everything reads like it was written by a no-talent fifth grader.

All that being said, I know that perception becomes reality, only if I let it and the way to get through it is to soldier on. The one sure way to cure writers block is to write. As the sign on the wall says…. “It ain’t gonna write itself!”


Writer’s block is a disease for which there is no cure, only respite. ~Terri Guillemets

4 Comments
  1. April 1, 2010 5:22 pm

    You’re not the only one in the household suffering from creative ennui. I think it’s a sign from the gods. They’re telling us that creativity is best fostered in a setting that includes beaches.

  2. April 4, 2010 4:41 pm

    Just found this fantasy rant, thought it could help with your doldrums…
    http://limyaael.livejournal.com/418969.html
    And don’t forget your Happiness 101 Award… waiting for your list! 🙂

  3. April 4, 2010 5:35 pm

    LOL… That is fantastic!! Thanks Barb!

Trackbacks

  1. Happines 101 award « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Comments are closed.