Skip to content

Outlining

February 24, 2010

I am closing in on the end of the outlining project for the second book in the Phoenix Worthy series.  My plan is to begin writing on Monday, ready or not.  I’m committing to a daily word count goal of 2000.  With a target length of 80,000 words, that means I should be able to finish the first draft in eight weeks.

I have created a tool using Excel that lets me enter a daily word count and it graphs the weekly tally to an end goal.  It looks like this:

Word Count

Do you do things like this to help discipline yourself and combat procrastination?


Goals are dreams with deadlines. ~Diana Scharf Hunt

 

2 Comments
  1. February 24, 2010 6:39 pm

    When you created the daily word count plotter for me, it helped immensely in writing The Glendale Witch.

    You know me – I’m all about the “art”, not the “craft”, an attitude that doesn’t necessarily serve me well and which I’m sure would have steered me off course if it weren’t for this tool. The graph kept me focused on the goal and my first draft was completed in 3 months as a direct result.

  2. February 25, 2010 6:23 am

    I admit I always write the first draft of anything quite quickly (in a month or so)… it’s starting the “damn thing” that sometimes makes me procrastinate! 😦 Once I dive in, though, I go full throttle to the end (until my hand aches, as my very first draft is always handwritten)… 😉

Comments are closed.