Skip to content

Fighting procrastination

February 19, 2010

I admit it freely. I don’t care who knows it – confession is good for the soul. I am a world-class, blue ribbon, dyed-in-the-wool, why do today what you can put off until tomorrow, procrastinator.

If I had to pick the biggest issue confronting my writing on a daily basis, it’s procrastination.  I can rationalize and justify all I want about why I’m not working on the outline or why I am not moving forward with the next project. At some point I have to hold the mirror up to my face and say… “Mickey Mills, you are a procrastinator! You keep saying I’ll blog tomorrow or I’ll work on the new book after I do the marketing things related to Haunting Injustice.” (now on sale at Amazon.com)

I used to be very good at time management.  Coming from a technical sales world, my work life revolved on my ability to manage time and the calendar.  I had to juggle multiple projects against deadlines that really meant something.

I don’t think there is a twelfth step program for it.

“Hi… my name’s Mickey… and I’m a procrastinator.”

I always thought it would be something I could deal with tomorrow. If I’m going to get this book done, I’m afraid I am going to have to deal with it today. It comes down to another topic directly related to this one – discipline. It’s the other thing I have to hone up on to get this work done – can’t put that off until tomorrow.


If you want to make an easy job seem mighty hard,
just keep putting off doing it.
~Olin Miller

2 Comments
  1. Carol permalink
    February 20, 2010 2:06 am

    If you find a Twelve Step program for this (if you get around to it) let me know!! LOL

  2. Stephen Ramey permalink
    June 13, 2010 8:52 pm

    I’d be a card carrying member for sure.

Comments are closed.